History of EATES

EATES_LogoThe “history” of EATES has been passing through the difficulties of the organization, qualification and specific training of the Surgical Emergency Services in Europe for the last 30 years characterized by different and sometimes conflicting policies and cultures inside the European countries, including Eastern Europe, former Soviet Union countries and around the Mediterranean area. We must remember a pre-EATES phase when an official Committee (high level Academic Surgeons) of International Congress of Emergency Surgery was working to promote the culture of Emergency Surgery and Surgical Intensive Care: biannual congresses were organized and always at a high scientific level – in Milan (Italy) in1973, Zurich (Switzerland) in 1975, Paris (France) in 1977, Barcelona (Spain) in 1979, Brighton (UK) in 1981, Dubrovnik (Yugoslavia) in 1983, Munich (Germany) in 1985, Milan (Italy) in1987, Strasbourg (France) in 1989, Lisbon (Portugal) in 1991.

EATES Articles

The first effort to build a European Association arose during the International Conference and “Postgraduate Training and Hospital Organization for Emergency Surgery Services “ organized by the University of Pisa (Italy) on 7th November, 1992, where official delegates from the National Societies of France, Norway, Hungary, Greece, UK, Germany, Switzerland, Eire, Portugal, Spain, Poland and Italy participated. This meeting was developed under the patronage of the European College of Surgeons and of the Council of Europe, whose Secretary was chairman of the meeting. After a few months Prof. Vittorio Staudacher in Castel Ivano – University of Milan (Italy) sponsored and organized the EAES (European Association Emergency Surgery) FOUNDATION CONFERENCE, also with the participation of delegates from Russia (ex-Soviet Union), Czech Republic, Rumania, Bulgaria, Croatia and Slovenia. The “Founder Patrons” Vittorio Staudacher (Milan – Italy) and Louis F. Hollender (Strasbourg – France) supported the election as President EAES of Enrico Cavina (Pisa – Italy) (1993-97).

The 1st EAES Congress was held in Oslo (Norway) in 1995. Following this event, EAES changed into EATES (European Association Trauma Emergency Surgery ), the enlarged formal participation of non-European countries was encouraged, also from ex-Soviet Union countries, North-Africa and the Middle East Mediterranean area (56 Countries enrolled , but only as formal acceptance ).

During the 1993 – 97 period EATES was present by its patronage in some important enterprises for the growth of Emergency and Trauma. Surgery policies and cultures in Europe official Conferences in Brno (Czech Republic), Moscow (Russia – Institute for Emergencies), Beograd (formal Republic of Yugoslavia), Lublin (Poland).
EATES suggested the introduction of the ATLS® courses (ACS) in many European countries and at the same time edited a “European Course Trauma Care” managed by a special EATES taskforce of young surgeons

Founders of EATES

George ANDROULAKIS (GREECE) Professor and Chairman University of Athens
Stylianos KATSARAGAKIS (GREECE) Ass. Professor of Surgery University of Athens
Spyros STERGIOPOULOS (GREECE) Lecturer in Surgery University of Athens
Enrico CAVINA (ITALY) Professor of Surgery Head Emergency Dept. University of Pisa
Massimo SECCIA (ITALY) Associate Professor of Surgery
Massimo CHIARUGI (ITALY) Associate Professor of Surgery
Hans Jorg OESTERN (GERMANY) Professor and Chairman Trauma Dept. Celle
George SAPKAS (GREECE) Associate Professor of Surgery
Lefteris VAIRAKTARIS (GREECE) Associate Professor of Surgery
Emmanuil LEANDROS (GREECE) Associate Professor of Surgery
Zogzapos GEORGE (GREECE) Associate Professor of Surgery
Konstadoulakis MANOUSSOS (GREECE) Attending Surgeon
Andrgas MANOURAS (GREECE) Lecturer in General Surgery
George PAPADAKIS (GREECE) Senior Registrar
Leonidas PAPASTAMATIOU (GREECE) Associate Professor of Surgery
Panos TRACHNOS (GREECE) Senior Registrar
Lefteris LAPIDAKIS (GREECE) Senior Registrar
Panos PANOUSSIS (GREECE) Associate Professor of Vascular Surgery
Theodore PANTAZOPOULOS (GREECE) Professor of Orthopaedics
Emmanuel FRAGKIADAKIS (GREECE) Associate Professor of Orthopaedics
Dimitrios KORRES (GREECE) Associate Professor of Orthopaedics
Constantinos STAMOS (GREECE) Associate Professor of Orthopaedics

2006-2008 Term

Approved during the 7th EATES Congress, Graz (Austria),  07 September, 2006

President Sten LENNQUIST
Vice President Selman URANUES
General Secretary Korhan TAVILOGLU
Treasurer Eric J. VOIGLIO
Past President Ari LEPPÄNIEMI
Mauro ZAGO
Councilor at Large Hans Jörg OESTERN

2004-2006 Term

Approved during the 6th EATES Congress, Rotterdam (The Netherlands),  12 September, 2004

President Ari LEPPÄNIEMI
Vice President Sten LENNQUIST
General Secretary Korhan TAVILOGLU
Treasurer Tamer TADROS
Past President Alastair W. WILSON
Members Sergio RIBALDI
Councilor at Large Hans Jörg OESTERN

2002-2004 Term

Approved during the 5th EATES Congress, Istanbul (Turkey), October 2002

President Alastair W. WILSON
Vice President Sten LENNQUIST
General Secretary Korhan TAVILOGLU
Treasurer Tamer TADROS
Kluger YORAM
Councilor at Large Hans Jörg OESTERN

2000-2002 Term

Approved during the 3rd EATES Congress, Lyon (France), September 1999

President George ANDROULAKIS
Vice President Hans Jörg OESTERN
Alastair W. WILSON
Past President Enrico CAVINA
Members Jean-Louis CAILLOT
Francois IRMAY

1997-2000 Term

Approved during the 2nd EATES Congress, Athens (Greece), October 1997

President George ANDROULAKIS
Vice President Hans Jörg OESTERN
Alastair W. WILSON
Past President Enrico CAVINA
Members Michael GRINEV
Iskender SAYEK

1993-1997 Term

Approved during the International Conference and Postgraduate Training and Hospital Organization for Emergency Surgery Services, Pisa (Italy) 7 November, 1992

President Enrico Cavina (Italy)
Vice President Jean-Pierre Neidhardt (France)
Honorary President Vittorio Staudacher (Italy)
Louis-Francois Hollender (France)
Members George Androulakis (Greece)
Michael Grinev (Russia)
Guido Tiberio (Italy)
Jean-Louis Caillot (France)