History of ETS

ETS_LogoThe European Society for Traumatology is an umbrella organisation of 10 national societies.

In order to keep up with modern developments in the treatment of accident victims and to achieve a certain degree of harmonization, the German Society of Traumatology, the Austrian Trauma Society as well as the Swiss Society of Traumatology and Occupational Medicine began to hold joint meetings every 3 years in 1973.
After six conferences the political landscape in Europe had changed to such an extent that it seemed appropriate to invite other medical societies to participate and, thus, promote the idea of co-operation at the European level. Harald Tscherne was one of the driving forces behind this idea.

The goal was to create a European umbrella organization for all national societies of traumatology.
In 1994 the first European Trauma Congress was organized by the Hungarian Society of Traumatology under the presidency of Antal Renner in Budapest. Congresses in Davos (1996, under the presidency of Otmar Trentz), Amsterdam (1998, under the presidency of Christian von der Werken), and Hannover (2000, under the presidency of Harald Tscherne) followed. In 2002, Vienna was the venue of the 5th European Trauma Congress. The 6th European Trauma Congress was held in Prague in 2004. The 7th European Trauma Congress took place in Ljubljana in May 2006.

Within the framework of the Amsterdam Congress in 1998, the “European Trauma Society” (ETS) was established as an umbrella organisation for the national trauma societies. The mandate of the European Society was to optimise the quality of care for trauma victims in Europe through the intensive exchange of ideas, organisation of joint events, and representation of the interests of trauma surgery vis-à-vis the European authorities.

Thanks to support received from J. Gruwez and J. Witte, the Division of Traumatology of the European Board of Surgery was established within the framework of UEMS and a European examination for specialists in trauma surgery was introduced.


1st president of ETS was Simon K. Luitse (Netherlands)
2nd president was Harald Tscherne (Germany)
3rd president was Vilmos Vécsei (Austria)
4th president was Petr Zelnicek (Czech Republic), who passed away on Dec. 26th, 2005
5th president was Gert Muhr
6th president is Otmar Trentz

Honorary Members

Prim. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Jörg Böhler
Dr. Jacques Aimé Gruwetz
Prof. Dr. H.J.Th.M. Haarman
Dr. Jan S. K. Luitse
Prof. Dr. Jennö Manninger
Prof. Dr. Eberhard Markgraf
Prof. Dr. Maurice Müller
Prof. Dr. Antal Renner
Prof. Dr. Harald Tscherne
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Emanuel Trojan